The Student Room Group

Is anyone "allowed" to apply to Oxford/Cambridge University?

Hello,
I am a lower sixth student and I would like to know if it is possible for me to apply to Oxford or Cambridge. I got 1 A* and 7 A in my GCSEs, and i am doing really well in my subjects (Physics, Maths, Spanish, Geography, Biology and General Studies) at college.
Thanks, Imran:smile:

Scroll to see replies

In short, yes.

:smile: keep working hard!
(edited 10 years ago)
Cambridge don't really care about GCSE's I've heard unless it's medicine, vet science etc but I think Oxford cares a lot more but it's possible :smile:
Reply 3
Original post by majmuh24
First of all, 'Really well' is not a specific measure of how well you are doing. You might get more help if you included grades.

From what I've heard, it may be more difficult to go for Oxford as they place significantly more emphasis on amazing GCSE grades (although this isn't a definite rule)

Hi,
I am getting As and Bs in my end of topic tests,
Thanks, Imran
Reply 4
Original post by Imranfr0
Hello,
I am a lower sixth student and I would like to know if it is possible for me to apply to Oxford or Cambridge. I got 1 A* and 7 A in my GCSEs, and i am doing really well in my subjects (Physics, Maths, Spanish, Geography, Biology and General Studies) at college.

There is nothing saying you can't apply but be aware that your GCSE's are lower than average. And A's & B's isn't really well by Oxbridge standards. Cambridge always used to say you needed to have 90UMS+ in your AS Levels to stand a good chance of getting in. Oxbridge didn't look at AS UMS marks but still expect A's. Also your taking way too many subjects, drop down to 4 A A-Levels, taking more doesn't help your application.
(edited 10 years ago)
Reply 5
Anyone is "allowed" to apply. Whether they stand a realistic chance of an offer is another matter.

What subject would you be wanting to apply for?
Reply 6
Original post by majmuh24