The Student Room Group

Discretionary Leave to Remain....HELP!!!!

Hi everyone I really need your help, thanks for your time

I am going to uni this year, I have been living in the UK for 8 years and I got the 'Discretionary Leave to Remain', for this visa I need to renew it in this August and then I can get another 3 years, after the 3 years I can apply to the indefinite leave to remain.

The problem is, the uni see me as an international student. My dad has asked the lawyer whether I am allowed to apply for the student loan or not, the lawyer said it depends on the uni. I have asked the uni and they said it depends on the gov.
Now I ring up the student finance, the lady tells me I only can apply for the student loan when I get the indefinite leave to remain.

:confused:My question is do I really can’t apply for the student loan? Me and my parents are living in the UK for a long time, I am studying in the local primary school, secondary school, 6th form and Foundation, I didn't pay anything for that. Also my parent’s income is quite low, each of their income are less than 13000 pounds (per year), and I don’t have any job...and the international student's fee is much higher than the home student fee:frown::frown: it will be difficult for me to pay the fee.

When I ring up to the gov student finance, the lady sounds like she doesn’t really know about this, she keeps asking people and checking the system.... So if there are any chances that I can apply for the student finance, I don’t want to miss it out.:redface:

:confused:Another question is, if I really can’t get the student loan, are there any ways to get other financial supports?
(edited 10 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
If you lived in the UK for more 3 years and not been in any education in last 3 years then you should be classed as a home student. And also there is no other way to fund it.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2