The Student Room Group

There should be compulsory maths and statistics units in all science degrees.

I will state that I only have experience in Biological sciences, but I would be interested to hear others opinions on this.

Background:

I graduated from a top university in Biology (well technically Zoology, but they are much of a muchness) with very little knowledge of statistics bar how to bung everything into SPSS and pray it works. This got worse at Masters level where there were people who had done science degrees and done no statistics whatsoever.

Statistics and data analysis are an integral part of the sciences and I find the lack of more in depth teaching on the subjects pretty awful frankly. There are academics in my field that have little to no understanding of that side if things. I feel it leaves you grossly under prepared for any kind of research or any jobs in the areas of analysis or data management.

Scroll to see replies

Original post by redferry
I will state that I only have experience in Biological sciences, but I would be interested to hear others opinions on this.

Background:

I graduated from a top university in Biology (well technically Zoology, but they are much of a muchness) with very little knowledge of statistics bar how to bung everything into SPSS and pray it works. This got worse at Masters level where there were people who had done science degrees and done no statistics whatsoever.

Statistics and data analysis are an integral part of the sciences and I find the lack of more in depth teaching on the subjects pretty awful frankly. There are academics in my field that have little to no understanding of that side if things. I feel it leaves you grossly under prepared for any kind of research or any jobs in the areas of analysis or data management.

Biology, peh. You lot are scared of numbers :tongue:

What you say would be a good idea though.
Reply 2
Original post by ChaoticButterfly