The Student Room Group
Student Outside, University of Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen

Economics at University of Aberdeen

Hi! I got a conditional offer from this University.

I would like to know more about this course at this uni: (interesting, really demanding, a lot of knowledge in economics and mathematics and the resources...?

Also, do you need boks or something like that? What is more or less the timetable for this course?

I am studying Economics and finance, joint honours.

Cheers!

Pd: FROM Barcelona
Reply 1
I got no idea
But im spanish as well haha
Barca rpz

Posted from TSR Mobile
Student Outside, University of Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen
I study accountancy and finance, but all business school students must complete first year economics courses too, so I've done those.

Economics in 1st year has been 3 1 hour lectures per week and a 1 hour tutorial every 2 weeks. The first semester module also has 4 1 hour computer classes to attend throughout the semester. 3 of these are assessed class tests.
The work isn't particularly demanding. In fact, it isn't demanding at all if you manage your time well.
Semester 1 is microeconomics - the course co-ordinator and lecturers for that course are brilliant! They made settling in to uni and getting into the swing of lectures very easy for my friends and I. The coursework for that course is made up of an essay and 3 multiple choice class tests (done in the computer classes mentioned above). These are very easy if you do the reading and attend lectures, and mock tests are made available for you to practice on. The coursework is worth 30% of your overall grade with the further 70% coming from the exam.