The Student Room Group

Bus vs Tube (Transportation within London)

Poll

Which one do you use the most to travel within London?

Which one do you prefer to use? (and why)

(Reason could be in terms of: convenience, speed, price, health, etc)
(edited 10 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Tube. Less hassle to get on than busses.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Depends where you are. As a student I preferred the bus because it was cheaper and there was more to see as well as less walking, but now I get the tube more.

In town, in order to get to somewhere else in town, my preferences are walk, bus, tube in that order. Getting out of town, it depends. Camden, Paddington and co, ie places only just outside Central London are okay on a bus. Places like Finsbury Park, Clapham are too far.
I've only ever got the bus in London when the tube hasn't been running late at night. I get the tube out of convenience because it tends to be quicker.
Reply 4
As said above it depends, I've had terrible experiences on both bus and train. As a matter of convenience at the moment everything being pretty near bus is best at the moment. Especially with recent engineering works and strikes on the tube.
However not all bad I have had many pleasant journeys on public transport.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Depends where i am going really and how far away it is. Mostly i prefer to take the bus as is cheaper and i can look out of the window haha :h:
Reply 6
Tube, its much quicker, easier to work out a route to a destination with the map and dont have to deal with drivers that appear to hate you purely because of your age and educational status.

On the other hand, least you get phone signal on a bus, and dont sweat like a horse in a glue factory during summer.
Reply 7