The Student Room Group

Medicine Help

I was wondering if anybody could help me with this:

I'm an EU student from Malta and we have our own A Level Board of Examinations which unfortunately isn't accepted by any of the Universities I wanted to apply to (King's, Imperial, Bart's, UCL and a lot of other universities). I only decided I wanted to study abroad around January after visiting a couple of universities, and I had already registered to take these exams which I'm currently studying for, which meant that it was already too late to consider any other route to take the UK A Levels.

We have a British Council here in Malta which can help me take the UK version of A Levels but I'll need to wait another year; till June 2015. As for subjects, our syllabi, and to an extent, the format of the exam papers, are identical to the UK ones so it wouldn't be a problem to take the UK A Levels.

My question is: Would universities still consider my application for medicine if I would have already spent two years of sixth form on the Maltese version of A Levels which are not accepted, or would they consider only the year I would have spent to take the UK A Levels?

Thanks again :smile:
Reply 1
Contact unis directly as id say it's a fairly unique situation but be prepared to branch out, Medicine here is competitive so we really do take what we can get!
At a guess id say they wont accept it especially if the content of the exams is the same, youd effectively be doing the sAme exam but over more than 2 years which would give you an advantage

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Contact medical schools asap and also pose the question if withdrawing from the current non-UK exams and subsequently sitting the UK A levels would mean you are considered a first time sitter.
Reply 3
Original post by Zorg
Contact medical schools asap and also pose the question if withdrawing from the current non-UK exams and subsequently sitting the UK A levels would mean you are considered a first time sitter.