The Student Room Group

gcse or gce

Hey everybody I am an international student. I am thinking of studying either 5 IGCSEs(maths,biology,history,geography,english lang) or 3or 4 a levels(history,geography,eng lang and theology and phil)
which do you think is best?
how long would it take me to study them?
could i manage considering that my english level is C1?
are the practicals necessary?
please help i am desperate

Posted from TSR Mobile

Posted from TSR Mobile
GCSEs are the qualifications you do before A Levels
So in the education system, you do your GCSEs in years 10-11 and then your A Levels in years 12-13
They're not the same level of qualification
For example, I have 11 GCSEs (I finished my GCSEs last year) and I am currently studying for 4 A Levels
University offers are made based on A Levels
Original post by BaudelaireLucky
GCSEs are the qualifications you do before A Levels
So in the education system, you do your GCSEs in years 10-11 and then your A Levels in years 12-13
They're not the same level of qualification
For example, I have 11 GCSEs (I finished my GCSEs last year) and I am currently studying for 4 A Levels
University offers are made based on A Levels

Yep - couldn't have put it better :smile:
Well, iGCSEs are a lower level than A Levels. See, iGCSEs are the same as the British GCSE which is level 2 (? Someone correct me on this if I'm wrong) and A level are the level above, which is level 3. It really depends on how old you are and what qualifications you've already got. If you have any GCSEs or equivalent then you should do A levels

They both take 2 years to do. For the sciences the practicals are pretty useful, but not necessary - but you will be asked how to proceed with an experiment and why it works.

Most people take 9 iGCSEs - including Maths, English (lang and lit) and science (BTEC, core, additional or triple science - most IGCSEs are triple science) and 4 options. Most people then go on to do 4 A levels unless they are really clever