The Student Room Group

Edexcel Physics Unit 2 JUNE 2014- Revision

I created this thread so everyone can discuss questions related to this exams as well as revision tips and notes.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
2014-04-14_193522.pngThis question has been annoying me for quite some time now, can someone explain this for me please?
Reply 2
Original post by sabphysics
2014-04-14_193522.pngThis question has been annoying me for quite some time now, can someone explain this for me please?

I'm not good at physics, but I think it actually means that the mercury goes from a 'higher' energy level, until it becomes unstable and it goes on a lower energy level in its ground state, which releases a type of photon from that energy gap.
What does the mark scheme say?
Reply 3
Original post by Alisa59
I'm not good at physics, but I think it actually means that the mercury goes from a 'higher' energy level, until it becomes unstable and it goes on a lower energy level in its ground state, which releases a type of photon from that energy gap.
What does the mark scheme say?

oh i was looking at the wrong part in the markscheme:colondollar:.. it is simply the atoms gain energy and move to higher energy levels.
Reply 4
2014-04-14_211439.pngfirst person to answer gets reppp
Reply 5
oh i was looking at the wrong part in the markscheme:colondollar:.. it is simply the atoms gain energy and move to higher energy levels.

I was almost right. :P
Reply 6
2014-04-14_211439.pngfirst person to answer gets reppp

Oh, my guess is D on the first one and also B on the second one.
Did I get them right? :biggrin:
Reply 7
Original post by Alisa59

explain your answers please
Reply 8
explain your answers please

Well, the question says that the waves are longitudinal. Longitudinal waves oscillate back and forth along the line of propagation, so I thought it was D