The Student Room Group

Depression - just want to talk to someone

I just wanted to talk to someone about how I'm feeling. Is someone willing to listen?

I've experienced low mood throughout University. I graduated last summer and was put on sertraline in September. Sometimes I wonder though. Am I depressed or just lazy/being too sensitive?

Since I've been a teenager I've been quite lazy, had poor concentration and slept excessively. I'm fairly clever so even if I don't do much work I get OKish marks so I never really got into much trouble. I got into a RG Uni (I missed my grades and they let me in) and never really enjoyed it. I had lots of problems in first year, like didn't make many friends until second semester and wasn't really doing much work/enjoying the course. I decided to see how exams would go, but I just revised the night before for everything and did OK while other people who didn't do the work failed so I didn't really have any motivation to leave as I wasn't doing that badly.

I've had eating problems for a while. Since I've been about 16 I've skipped meals and not eaten properly as I tend to put weight on really easily. I was diagnosed with PCOS at 21 (which is why I am so sensitive to weight gain) but struggled with weight gain unknowingly for a very long time. Often my energy has been low because I haven't been eating enough or have been eating the wrong foods.