The Student Room Group

Cannot decide between Hull or Nottingham Trent

I'm tearing my hair out in frustration over this decision :frown:

I'm studying History, I have offers for both. One moment while I write my reasons, I accidentally submitted the post.
Reply 1
General reasons:

NTU's course isn't that flexible - exams are compulsory, the dissertation is 5000 words longer than Hull's. Hull course is far more academic, it's the "better" degree, it has more module choices, exams are dependent on those choices and the level of professionalism as a Uni seems a whole cut above NTU's.

I found the few lecturers I met at Hull quite stuffy and I didn't feel I'd enjoy being taught by them. But then there's the issue that Hull wipes the floor with NTU in every ranking for my course.

Hull's facilities are really impressive. NTU's shoved into the corner of a city and doesn't feel like a campus. I'd be taking lectures at a campus five miles outside the centre. I'd not even see the City campus. I could live in either campus as both are really modern, but it's by a busy road and doesn't feel homely. I have no idea of Hull's halls, other than it's not as modern and it's potentially closer to campus.

Nottingham will be more expensive to live in than Hull, but it has a vibrant rock scene which is what I enjoy in London. Bear in mind the best rock club in Hull closes at 2:30am and I'm used to going out in London on Friday and not getting home until Sunday because I party that hard. Even outside of nightlife, Nottingham has more to offer me in the way of excursions. I'd rather live in Nottingham, I do not want to live in Hull.

Breakdown of those stats:
History Ranking
Hull - 31st vs. NTU - 63rd
History Student satisfaction
Hull - 95.8% vs. NTU - 86%
Overall Uni Ranking
Hull - 53rd vs. NTU - 61st
Hull's research and graduate prospects are slightly higher. Degree completion is the same, ~82%.