The Student Room Group

Negotiating salary!

Hey everyone,

I had a pre-screening phone interview this morning, and really wasn't expecting to be directly asked what my salary expectations are so early on. I had thought about it before so gave a range but after hearing exactly what the role involves and doing more digging I think I quite badly undersold myself! I have no experience in negotiating salaries so it's new and scary territory.

From experience, does anyone think there will still be scope for negotiation if I get through to the next stage, or am I now pinned to a quite low pay range? I feel like an idiot!

Thanks!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 1
There is no contract yet, so it's still negotiable. Leave it be for now, and if you actually end up with an offer then that's the time to discuss remuneration.
Original post by Pies
Hey everyone,

I had a pre-screening phone interview this morning, and really wasn't expecting to be directly asked what my salary expectations are so early on. I had thought about it before so gave a range but after hearing exactly what the role involves and doing more digging I think I quite badly undersold myself! I have no experience in negotiating salaries so it's new and scary territory.

From experience, does anyone think there will still be scope for negotiation if I get through to the next stage, or am I now pinned to a quite low pay range? I feel like an idiot!

Thanks!

Posted from TSR Mobile

Never give a figure when asked a question like this. Stall, prevaricate, whatever it takes - simply say you aren't going to give a figure if required.

I'd be happy with a competitive starting salary for this type of role

I'm sure my aspirations are reasonable for the role

I'm certainly not going to be asking for anything outrageous if I am fortunate enough to get to the salary negotiation stage

I'd rather leave that until I understand more about the role

That's a matter for discussion once a job offer is made

etc

Reply 3