The Student Room Group
Student in the Laboratory, Lancaster University
Lancaster University
Lancaster
Visit website

American Student Maybe Attending Lancaster In 2014 - Questions!

Hello!

I have received an offer to attend Lancaster University for its Economics program for this upcoming fall.

I am an American Student, although I have lived in London, and am a European citizen.

Unlike many other Americans, I understand the British culture. Basically, I wouldn't be totally out of the loop if I go to Lancaster.

However, I do have a pair of questions, before committing to the University.

1) Do people in Lancaster/Northern England look down upon Americans? I wouldn't be walking around waving an American flag or anything, but I do carry my accent. This is my only major concern about going there.

2) Do girls feel more or less attracted to American accents? (Not a part of my decision, but always good to know)

3) I understand that Lancaster is by no means a London or a Manchester, but in terms of shops, bars, and restaurants, how does it stack up?

4) As a Freshman, would I be at a disadvantage if I lived in Lancaster rather than on campus?

Thanks in advance!
Reply 1
Okay, so I'm not in uni but I have lived in Lancaster for 16 years (my whole life). It's very quiet and remote. No one is going to look down on you or treat you differently cos your American. However the town is quite far from the uni but there are coffee shops and bars and pubs clubs etc. on the campus for other uni questions I can't answer. It's quite boring TBH but it's only an hour train ride away from manchester

Posted from TSR Mobile
Student in the Laboratory, Lancaster University
Lancaster University
Lancaster
Visit website
Original post by SoFlo561
Hello!

I have received an offer to attend Lancaster University for its Economics program for this upcoming fall.

I am an American Student, although I have lived in London, and am a European citizen.