The Student Room Group

Parents think I'm lazy

Hi I'm a PT double degree student in science and work very hard in a PT receptionist job and on w/e's model. :cool: Mostly it's promo and sometimes I even fly interstate, across the country for events and consider myself hard working but everyone in my family thinks I'm lazy. It's like I will disappear for 3 days (Fri, Sat and Sun) for a modelling stint or shoot, get back and my mum will be like 'oh so it's nice for SOME people to go on holidays, but you should work harder and become full-time in actual real work rather than doing micky mouse stuff'.

:frown:

Also she's (my mum) has been complaining to my ex about how lazy I am :eek: :mad:

Oh and my rents are divorced too, but at least my dad is semi-supportive.:smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Your mum sounds jealous, and like a bit of an arse aswell.
Reply 2
Aww - come on danni - not everyone has the opportunities you do, and your mums likely envious - from talking to you before it sounds like you are also very dedicated to your study and future - obviously modelling isn't a life long career, but you have an impending professional qualification, so its not like you're not "hedging your bets".

Keep doing exactly what you want, and have fun!
whats your mum doing talking to your ex?
Straas

well the first thing sounds right.... dont wry i think she just wishes she was u lol:p:
Sounds as if they are jealous, modelling can't be that easy
Reply 6
If you're getting paid well for the modelling, dont see the problem, if on the other hand youre still waiting for a 'big break' and struggle to meet the costs of your lifestyle perhaps you should consider what shes saying
Reply 7
bikerx23