The Student Room Group

How important is your 4th AS for the London College Universities? 2015 Entry

Hey guys

I'm currently studying AS Chemistry, Biology, Geography and Computing & I am aspiring to apply for Biochemistry at the London Colleges (Imperial, UCL, King's, Queen Mary).

My aspiration grades at A2 are
Biology - A*/A, Chemistry - A, Geography - A

I have over 100 hours of work experience so far in a local Pharmacy as well as shadowing consultants in the Neurology ward of my local hospital.
I have keen interests in Oncology, Regenerative Medicine, Music, Road Cycling and Badminton.
I have applied for a research placement with the Nuffield Foundation to work with Stem Cells/Cancer Biology Techniques.
I play 5 instruments (Guitar, Bass Guitar, Violin, Piano and Drum Kit), I play in the school orchestra and I have my own Jazz ensemble who are going to be hopefully, recording some music in the near future.

Half way through the year, I was certain that I wanted to drop Computing as I didn't particularly feel as engaged within the lesson, besides a deteriorating interest and ability to comprehend the 'teaching' taking place.
I feel very confident in achieving the AAA requirement for Biochemistry at the London Uni's however I understand that they require a 'pass' in a 4th AS level. Realistically speaking, I know that at best I can achieve a B, more likely a C in computing and I was wondering if that would really hinder my chances of getting any offers when I apply later this year.

Some of you make think that I am just slacking or being unjust and that I should just revise but the reality is that it is the first time that the course has been taught at my school and to be honest, it just hasn't worked out. (Several people have dropped out before the exam altogether).