The Student Room Group

2015 Entry: **Dental Hygiene and Therapy Discussion**

Who's applying to study Dental Hygiene and Therapy (DHT) this year for 2015 entry?

What's your background and which universities will you apply to? :smile:

Feel free to discuss any DHT admissions related issues for 2015 entry in this thread.

Good luck.
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

I am applying for sheffield for 2015 intake!
Where are u applying?

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
Hi!
I'm a mature student (32) with the correct academic qualifications plus a degree, qualified teacher status and many years teaching experience. I don't have any experience working as a dental nurse, but I am currently doing work experience with a hygienist and am in the process of arranging more experience. I have to fit in work experience around my two very young children and do not have any family near by who can help with childcare so that does significantly limit the amount of free time I have available to gain experience when my husband (who works full time) is able to look after the children.

How many weeks / days work experience do you think I realistically need to gain to have a chance of getting offered an interview? Obviously I'm going to arrange as much as possible, but it would be helpful to have an idea of what is deemed an acceptable amount of experience, if you see what I mean?

Many thanks!
Reply 3
Original post by kirsty4586
I am applying for sheffield for 2015 intake!
Where are u applying?

Posted from TSR Mobile

hey, I am also applying at the same uni, however the application hand in date is sept 28. I am really confused about how the process needs to be carried out.
Im applying to teeside university to do dental hygiene and therapy for 2015 entry! I'm a dental nurse, have been doing this for 2 years, have B's and C's in GCSE and starting an oral health education course in September! What is your background?
Original post by Muzill