The Student Room Group

Will I be able to do it in my situation?

I'm not so much a mature student but I feel I can get more help here rather than the young undergrads. I'm 20 and became a mum during college, fortunately I stayed and finished my a levels and now have good grades to go to uni as my little one is older, thing is is I'm on a housing waiting list for a house with the council as I can no longer stay in my mothers with my little one any longer. I'm wondering that if I'm living in a council house and receiving housing benefits, by going to uni full time will I lose my housing benefits allowing us to live there? Will the uni take this into consideration when I fill out their application and include having a young dependant? Has anyone been in this situation before/has anyone had to postpone uni because of it? Any help would be much appreciated!
I'm the same age as you although I don't have any children myself, and although I'm no expert on the matter I would say:

All universities make allowances for the fact some students will have dependents. It usually covers it when you look in their accommodation section but of course this does not apply to you unless you end up taking up university accommodation. Do you know how long your housing list is? You can find a rough waiting time with the council I believe. In some places, like where I live, it's years long but it might only be months. When you know that I would check with student finance to see how much support you will be entitled to and whether it will affect your other benefits. I know if you're living in student accommodation you're not likely to be legible for housing benefit unless you rent in the private sector.

But yeah like I say, check both with your local authority and student finance. Sorry I can't be more help than that though, and good luck with the housing and with going to university!
Reply 2
Original post by Bnxo