The Student Room Group

LAMDA drama school shortlist and other drama school topics...

Hey there people (if there is anyone reading this post I hope to God I'm not talking to myself).

Well lets start shall with on why you are hopefully reading this post. I am currently in my second year of auditioning for drama schools at the moment and my gosh it does't get easier. However this year I have had relative success, so far I am shortlisted for Bristol Old Vic and also Shortlisted for LAMDA.

I am well aware at how big the shortlist is for Bristol Old Vic so I shall not be getting my hopes up for a place were there is only 14 people accepted in the BA course. Also I already know 3 other boys accepted in Bristol this year so I am pretty aware of my chances for Bristol... even though I LOVED the place so much and it breaks my heart to say that.

On regards of the LAMDA shortlist, after battling my way to the final round and I was told a week after that I had been shortlisted for 3 year BA course in Acting. My heart somewhat sinks at this thought as it means that I have to wait for another drama school to get back to me. I almost feel like if they just rejected me on the spot then at least I could move on with my life. Its hard in these circumstances not to feel just like an afterthought.

Saying that though it does give me good practice for understanding what the industry is like so every negative is a positive and all that jazz. ( see feeling positive already)

Anyway I am going of on a tangent here so back on topic. Quite frankly I loved LAMDA although I was slightly confused because I got absolutely no direction from the panel in any of the rounds unlike Bristol and various other drama schools I had recalls for.