The Student Room Group

Asians: do you struggle to talk to white people?

I'm an Asian female medical student and I am really struggling to make conversation with most the white people on my firm, particularly the guys. I'm not religious, I drink, I have had boyfriends and I have lived in the country all my life. Just....there's a barrier there and I don't know why. Does anyone else feel the same?

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Anyone?
Asia is big, what country are your family originally from?
I grew up in Asia had a good number of friends, male and female. Since I moved to the UK, I find it harder to bond with white people and have zero male friends here.
Im an englsih white girl and i struggle to talk to some asian girls :confused: i know how you feel there seems to be a kind of awkardness asif you're both different people , but i think it comes with confidence. If you are open and friendly you will more often than not get a friendly response. Although you may seem like different people if you try and break past that barrier you will find you have alot more in common with some white guys than you think :smile:
Reply 5
Yeah
Reply 6
I'm south Asian and I never had trouble talking to any other race people. Am I the only one that doesn't look at people via their race/ religion? They are humans, just like you. :smile:
Im an asian guy and all of my closest friends are white - ive never had this type of problem. Ive literally been to parties of 50 people and me being the only person whos not white there and ive never had the same problem you seem to have. Maybe its your perception?
Reply 8
Original post by Anonymous
I'm an Asian female medical student and I am really struggling to make conversation with most the white people on my firm, particularly the guys. I'm not religious, I drink, I have had boyfriends and I have lived in the country all my life. Just....there's a barrier there and I don't know why. Does anyone else feel the same?