The Student Room Group

MSc in Econ or Finance

Hi all,

I am a second year student in Hong Kong majoring in Risk Management and expected to graduate in 2016. I am considering taking a master degree related to economics or finance (both quantitative or not) for career opportunities in ibanks or funds (Trading/Research).

I am heading to a first class honor(GPA>3.5/4.3 in my school), interned in the BO of a 2nd tier bank, part-timed in a top consulting firm, and interned in Big4 Audit.

Do I stand a chance for good unis? And which major you will recommend?

Thank you
Reply 1
Wow, great profile with good grades, relevant subject and internships. You also seem to have clear goals. Are you at HKUST, HKU or CU? These are well regarded HK unis and they send students to UK grad schools. You need at least a 2.1 (3.4 GPA) and good references.

The most regarded MSc Finance courses are offered at:
1st tier with target recruiting by IBs, career office tend to have good relationship with IBs:
LSE
Imperial (very quant)
Oxbridge (Fin Econ or Math. Fin)
Warwick

2n tier:
Cass
Cranfield
Bristol
Nottingham and Manchester

For research jobs, you may wish to look at courses with CFA accreditation (Warwick). LSE has good portfolio management classes, LSE and Imperial are good at risk management. As you certainly know, risk is middle office within IB whereas S&T are front office.
Reply 2
Thanks Tcannon!

Ya, I am from HKUST.

I don't concern much about CFA, because I gonna take the level 1 in my final ug year anyway and may take the rest after that.

What I concern most is:

1. Cost-effectiveness of the courses (including tuition and living expenses, as I guess it vary a lot between London Uni and Oxbridge, right? Also the scholarship available)
2. Admission Chances (I expected Finance major emphasizes more on related work experience, like FO in banks, which I haven't got yet. And some programmes, like EME in LSE, is so competitive with low admission rates.)