The Student Room Group

Dec 14 CFA L1 study plan

So I'm planning on sitting the CFA Level 1 in December and wanted to get some views from people that have done it before what would be a good study plan going forward.

I did an undergraduate degree in finance and am currently studying for the ACA as well, so the content shouldn't be that new to me.

The one complication I have is that I will be sitting the ACA Technical Integration papers in early November, about a month before the CFA. As such that will take up a fair bit of my time and I will probably not be able to give much, if any, time to the CFA in October.

I have however taken 2 weeks vacation before the CFA so that during that time I can go all out on the cramming.

My thoughts were that throughout the summer I would be doing low to medium intensity studying as well as doing practice questions (from my ACA experience I have seen that doing questions is a much more useful way of studying than simply reading theory), then take a break for about a month as I focus on my ACA exams and then after those are over, go into hardcore CFA mode.

Does this sound like a feasible plan that might get me past the first stage?
Reply 1
Why are you doing the ACA and CFA? - You should do one or the other depending on your field of work and career ambitions.

They are both very hard to do, and will be next to impossible to complete at the same time if you're also working (which I imagine you are if you're doing ACA)
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by 7M33R
Why are you doing the ACA and CFA? - You should do one or the other depending on your field of work and career ambitions.

They are both very hard to do, and will be next to impossible to complete at the same time if you're also working (which I imagine you are if you're doing ACA)