The Student Room Group

entering vet school graduate entry

I want to be a vet and have done for most of my life.I don't have outanding GCSEs but have the required grades except a b in English language (I have a c). Also I am not studying a levels but am studying an extended diploma in animal management, so I know it will be harder for me to get a place.I have lots of animal experience but need need to get lambing and experience in a veterinary practice. I do not want to leave home next year when I have finished my btec as I do not think I am ready to, so I was thinking about doing a degree close to home (I live in Birmingham) then entering vet school after.
So here are my questions
What degrees could I do close to birmingham which would allow me to enter vet school at degree entry(I know zoology at Birmingham university and this is what I am planning) I am willing to travel is there anywhere close that offers bio veterinary science degree?
Is it hard to get into vet school at degree entry?
What is an example time table for vet school e.g. how many days a week for how long?
How many years is vet school if you already have a degree?
And finally I know you have to self fund your second uni course but do you have to pay it all in bulk or can you pay it year by year or get a loan or something?
Thanks
Cameron Mcternan
Reply 1
-I don't know much about degrees close to Birmingham, sorry.

-graduate entry can still be very competitive, yes. I applied to it 5 years ago from Canada, so I am not entirely sure how to convert my grades/requirements or even if they could be directly translated. I would recommend contacting the universities that offer this program and asking what their admission requirements would be, if you can't directly find it on their webpage.