The Student Room Group

Which Macbook Air should I buy?

Hi. I'm a student looking to buy a Macbook Air using the 15% discount.

I'm torn between the 11 inch, 256GB (£772.80) and the 13 inch 128GB (£729.60).

For about £40 more I can get the one that has double the memory but it is smaller. I like the portability of the Macbook Air but I'm wondering whether 11" is too small- I used to have a 10" netbook, but that kind of size is not suitable for what I plan to use it for (internet browsing, creating presentations and documents, watching films & editing basic videos and photos).

13" is the perfect size but I'm not sure if the storage is enough. I want it to last me throughout uni (six year degree) and hopefully afterwards too. I mostly store music, a few films, videos, and photos- but I back the photos up to dropbox anyway so photo storage isn't really a problem.

Which should I get? Do you think 128GB storage is enough? I'm not a professional user (I'm not into advanced video editing etc) and I'm not a gamer, so do you think it would do?

Thanks in advance
The first thing to do is try both for yourself in a store. The 11" Air will be a very different experience from your netbook simply because of the keyboard and trackpad quality, so you may find it perfectly usable. Conversely you may find the screen is sill too small and want a 13" model. 128GB is plenty for a lot of people for storing the essentials like applications and key documents- media libraries and less important documents can all be stored and accessed from an external USB drive without issue, and a small portable 1TB drive can cost as little as £50.
13" and get an external storage.

11" is good for portability but beyond that it isn't the best thing in the world.
Original post by Ferris Bueller