The Student Room Group

Query for midwifery students ...

Hey everyone,

I know this thread is in the wrong place but I don't know where this thread would fit ...

I was just wondering how you'd recommend supporting a woman at the early stages of labour when she is having contractions. I was thinking of saying something along the lines of 'breathe through the contraction'....

As a medical student, I usually think of how to help someone medically but I'm not sure about what would be patronising and what would in fact be beneficial.

Please help :smile:

Thanks!
Do whatever she wants that isn't going to be actively harmful, no matter how silly it sounds?
Original post by hali0112

I was just wondering how you'd recommend supporting a woman at the early stages of labour when she is having contractions. I was thinking of saying something along the lines of 'breathe through the contraction'....

As a medical student, I usually think of how to help someone medically but I'm not sure about what would be patronising and what would in fact be beneficial.

Early stages?

Tell her to go home and do whatever she had planned for early labour - walk around, bounce on a birthing ball, take a bath, sleep, distractions, visualization etc. might not really need much 'breathing' coaching whe it's just like period pain! :smile:
Hey everyone,

I know this thread is in the wrong place but I don't know where this thread would fit ...

Probably in Nursing and Midwifery :tongue:

I've moved it for you :wink:

Thanks!