The Student Room Group

Computer science personal statement

Hello, I want to study computer science but I'm struggling on getting started on my personal statement. I'm especially finding it hard because I have no pervious experience as computer science is a new interest to me. I have nothing computer science related to write about.
Any help would be great!
Thanks
Reply 1
I'm also writing a personal statement for Computer Science at the moment:

- Writing about having a background in Maths can be good... Many universities value Maths above all else within A levels, so if there is anything extra you have done in maths e.g. Brilliant.com / Maths Challenges etc, make sure to put that in.
- There's a lot of scope for writing about things that excite you in the industry of computer science: Oculus rift etc. You can use a couple of sentences to explain your passion (we were told not to use the word passion as it is clichéd)
- If you can demonstrate that you have good presentational skills in some way, it certainly wouldn't harm to have more of that in the computer science sector...
- Physics is regarded as very beneficial - do you read NewScientist / equivalents occasionally?
- You could consider starting on one of the many free online courses for computer science. About 2 months ago I did a course on codecademy for learning the Python language. That was really helpful for me: http://www.codecademy.com/tracks/python

I hope that helps a bit
Original post by Destrian
I'm also writing a personal statement for Computer Science at the moment:

- Writing about having a background in Maths can be good... Many universities value Maths above all else within A levels, so if there is anything extra you have done in maths e.g. Brilliant.com / Maths Challenges etc, make sure to put that in.