The Student Room Group

Repaying your Student Debts

Hi all,

I read some articles about various students not being able to repay their student loan they had taken when they were students themselves. On the other hand I would like to hear from anyone who has had or is still having any problems with repaying his or hers student loan from the british government. Is it difficult to repay your student loan? Is it is certain that someone will get a job after graduating in order to repay his student loan? Has anyone known someone whose student loan destroyed his life or made it better? These are my main questions. If anyone has any knownledge of this matter please reply...

Do not hesitate to write.

Thanks in advance
:smile:Luffy_San:smile:
Gonna move to Money and Finance :smile:
I graduated in 2010 and have paid back £13 of my student loan since then. My issue is getting a job that pays above the threshold. For me, that's about £16k-ish, and I only reached enough to pay that this month because I left my job and had some holiday pay added to my normal wage.
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 3
You completely misunderstand how the loan system works.
Since 2008 repayments have been taken at source once you earn over the threshold. You cannot avoid it. If you earn under the threshold you pay nothing.
After a certain number of years any outstanding loan is written off, however much it is.
Moved to Student Financial Support
Reply 6
Original post by Luffy_San
Is it difficult to repay your student loan?

Not at all. If you take out a UK student loan now, you don't have to start repaying it until you earn £21,000pa or more. A small proportion of your wage is taken out for repayment, and payments only increase if your wages increase.

If you don't work and earn nothing, or you get a low-paying job, then you make no repayments. I graduated in 2011, went on to a Masters and then started a PhD - I haven't been required to make any repayments yet.