The Student Room Group

Uni choices for geology- help!

I'm new to this so I'm not really sure how it works;
I am going to university in 2015 September and want to study Geology/petroleum/engineering geology! I want my course to involve elements of animals but obviously palaeontology (module) involves dead animals. I am from England so does any of you have any ideas or are currently doing a degree involving this? I'd be so grateful for a reply as am very stuck!!
Thanks 😃 x
:smile:
Reply 1
I've applied for deferred entry in 2015. My firm is St Andrews for Geology and my insurance is Aberdeen!

I got offers from Edinburgh and Exeter as well! You should have a look at those 4 and the course content!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 2
If you do Geology at Bristol University there are units in palaeontology throughtout the course
Reply 3
Original post by Kiwi789
If you do Geology at Bristol University there are units in palaeontology throughtout the course

I know but palaeontology is the science of dinosaur fossils - I was looking more into the live animal sector 😄
Reply 4
But I didn't do biology at a level :frown: one subject which I wish I did do now!!
Reply 5
Original post by Klmalone
I know but palaeontology is the science of dinosaur fossils - I was looking more into the live animal sector

well you could do Bristol Univerisity's three year joint honours course in 'Geology and Biology', which means you get to do units in both subjects
Original post by Kiwi789
well you could do Bristol Univerisity's three year joint honours course in 'Geology and Biology', which means you get to do units in both subjects

But you need A Level Biology for that, which the OP doesn't have.
Reply 7
But I didn't do biology at a level :frown: one subject which I wish I did do now!!