The Student Room Group

what would u think of me (rich international student)

Hello, I am an international student and am holding an offer from kings.
Before moving to UK this Sep, I wanted to know what pschy do UK students have for us and found it quite funny when I read the threads like what do rich international students think of us and they are spoiled etc.
Actually why I made this thread is so I can know why do u actually think we are spoiled or we are different from you when you yourself actually have a huge upper hand (fluent English) . I, before reading threads like this, thought that may be students would think down on me as I don't belong to their culture and dun know how the things go on there (though have visited UK many times as u would expect from a rich int student ;-) ) .
So to tell u about myself , yes I am one of those students who has latest macs, smartphones and my parents will buy me a flat and a BMW when I move there though in no way I think I will be bragging about it or think m better than u people and personally am a very down to earth person, this is the reason m leaving all this wealth n moving over there but still all these come with me where ever I'll move.
Thanks for reading this essay and please share Ur thoughts on why u think students with lots of moneyare not like u.

Scroll to see replies

Your parents are buying you a flat.

Lots of us are paying £9000 a year out of a loan, then, in my case £7,500 in loans and grants and probably a job just to pay rent and bills and get by.

When I leave University, I won't have a house or a flat, I'll be massively in debt, but have the skills to, in probably 3-4 year have myself comfortable in life.

When you leave University, you have a flat, you don't have bills, and you have a degree.

Why do I think students with lots of money are not like me, because you aren't. You have everything given to you on a silver plate.