The Student Room Group

Trying contact lenses for the first time

Hi I have an appointment at Specsavers in a couple of days to get an induction on wearing contacts. I wear glasses 24/7 but would like to have the choice of wearing either glasses or contacts.

I've never used contacts before so not sure what to expect. Do you guys find them easy enough to use and comfortable enough to wear?

Scroll to see replies

Hi

A contact lens is mostly water so what it feels like is a water droplet on you eye. The first time you feel contact lens it will feel like a drop of rain on your eye.. So you know you blink to clear it that's what you will do it will settle in your eye. Contact lens are great for many reasons...being able to see without the feeling of glasses..getting peripheral vision...good socially ..and good for sports...hobbies plus u can wear normal.sunglasses outside in Sumner.
So you can different type of contact lenses. Daily disposables you use once amd throw away...then there are reusable ones..they last either two weeks or a month but they require cleaning and good hygiene. So if your a simple person who just wants to see how you get on and are not sure how often you want to wear then try daily disposable lenses. It's much simpler.
So in terms of the,process you'll have the initial contact lens for appt where basically the optician will look at your eyes have a chat with you to get an idea of your needs then recommend a lens put it in your eye check the for check your seeing okay
Then you will have a teach appt where you will be trained how to deal with contacts..then if all goes well you take them away to try and come bk and see optician to check how you got on...if allis well then you can go ahead and buy contacts lenses. You'll be fine,

Good luck
And yes they are comfortable to wear. At first you might be slightly aware of lens but as it settled it will feel like there's nothing in your eye and you'll be able to without the feeling of glasses!