The Student Room Group

Home Workouts vs Gym?

Not sure if I should put this as a poll.....or what but I'm looking for opinions from some seasoned lifters out there
I'm relatively new to weight training(free weights) and have only done it in a gym for a few weeks. I had to stop because of other commitments.

Arguement for Gym
They have a million machines that help work a million different muscles...etc, etc.
It was also crowded as hell.

Argument for home

I kind of like the privacy and focus I can get by working out at home without a bunch of other bodies crammed around me.
But that's just me....perhaps other people like having the socialization factor, helps with motivation maybe?

So I'm leaning towards just buying some of my own basic home gym workout equipment (like a decline bench)....a full set of weights, stuff like that.

Can I hear from others on the pros or cons as far as home workout vs. gym workout?

Which do you prefer and why? Also, can any very good home workouts be recommended if I just want a lean muscular built? I'm not fat or anything, just average.
(edited 9 years ago)
From my experience gyms don't tend to be that busy around midday, late in the evenings, or on weekends but it depends on your schedule.

You're definitely limited in the exercises you can do at home and you don't have a spotter.

I used to work out at home (had a few barbells, pull up bar, adjustable bench, dumbbells, weight plates, treadmill) which was okay but not great for the long term
Gym is far superior. Results from a home gym are very limited and will take forever. You also realise when you're at home you lose motivation later on and are more likely to give up. Cost as well: if you want a good home gym this could turn out to be very expensive and so a proper gym is better value for money.

You can also make friends at a gym and also once you start lifting heavy, its much safer to lift at a gym where other people are around if anything goes wrong.