The Student Room Group

Can international students make money with apps?

Hello,

I’m new to this site and this is my first thread.

I’m an international student and I am planning on developing an app and sell it in the App Store.

I’ve been wondering if international students can do that in the UK.

Is it legal for us to make money with apps?

Thanks
Reply 1
Original post by Ali40
Hello,

I’m new to this site and this is my first thread.

I’m an international student and I am planning on developing an app and sell it in the App Store.

I’ve been wondering if international students can do that in the UK.

Is it legal for us to make money with apps?

Thanks

I suspect so as you would need to declare money earnt to HMRC which would involve you setting up as self employed which to do that you would need a National insurance number whicj I assume you don't have.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by Ana81
I suspect so as you would need to declare money earnt to HMRC which would involve you setting up as self employed which to do that you would need a National insurance number whicj I assume you don't have.

Posted from TSR Mobile

Very logical answer but if OP decides to sell apps on Apple store then how will tax related departments know it?

OP: I won't recommend you to do anything that can cause a trouble for you in UK. BTW, can you setup an account by giving your home address? If yes then I don't think you will face any problem?
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 3
Original post by Ana81

Posted from TSR Mobile

I didn't know I have to do that. If I have to do it, then it is impossible to do this kind of thing as an overseas student.
Reply 4
Original post by universal_set
Very logical answer but if OP decides to sell apps on Apple store then how will tax related departments know it?