The Student Room Group

How hard is Physics A Level?

Hi guys. I am a student who loves science as a whole. At GCSE I didn't like Physics much but I still got A*'s in my exams.. I am considering to do this for A Level. What do you guys think? Is it hard? Is it worth it.. How much more different will it be? Also my exam board is OCR..

I am also decent/good at maths :smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
You should only really choose it if you need it or enjoy it. It is more interesting than GCSE physics I thought, though. The maths is largely basic so being good at maths is only a small advantage. There is an annoying focus on long answer questions, especially in the A2 G485 module which is essentially a large memory test which may or may not work to your advantage.
Reply 2
Thank you :-) are you a male/female? Sorry I'm only asking this because I've looked at the specification and it doesn't really interest me at all.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Original post by Aleenaa
Thank you :-) are you a male/female? Sorry I'm only asking this because I've looked at the specification and it doesn't really interest me at all.

Posted from TSR Mobile

I'm male. I'd say an interest in it is fairly important to studying it, though on the other hand with your GCSE results you are capable of studying it and getting a lot out of it as a well-respected subject. What other subjects are you considering and what is your main area of interest? You might not have any definite plans for university, but what are you drawn to at the moment?
A level physics is really interesting! But if you don't enjoy it, then you might be best picking a different subject.

My best advice would be to look through some textbooks your sixth form has to get an idea about physics at a level. :smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 5
Original post by pingu27