The Student Room Group

How the **** do you stay calm on a first date?!

Going on a first date on Tuesday- for a few drinks in a bar somewhere. I'm really feeling quite nervous as this is my first date since splitting up with my first ever boyfriend a few months ago. I'm very out of practice when it comes to dating.

People keep saying to me "just keep calm... relax!", but how on earth do you do that? All I can think about is "what if we don't have much to say to each other? What if he's not a nice person when he drinks? What if I say something stupid?"

We don't know each other that well, but the few times we have spoken we've got along great. He seems really sweet and like a good guy- but i'm aware that people aren't always as they seem.

Additionally- I, as the female, asked him out- something I've never done before. Is this relevant at all? He said yes and seems keen, so that's a positive. But i'm still nervous as hell. Any tips much appreciated :smile:
He'll be very happy to have been asked out, you'd have to do a lot to screw this up I reckon
Think of the ugliest teacher at your school in lingerie.

Mrs Weaver you're my beard haha.
Liquid courage? I'm always a little bit calmer after a couple of drinks...though obviously don't get off your face.
Reply 4
Iunno. Just... keep calm. :dontknow:

You'll both probably be slightly nervous, but he'll likely be trying to play it cool for you as well. Just don't speak faster than you can think, and don't say all you want to say in one go. If you mess up your words I doubt he'll be surprised, and he may well do the same.
Reply 5
Original post by jamez870
He'll be very happy to have been asked out, you'd have to do a lot to screw this up I reckon
Cheers :smile: do you think? Do guys like to be asked out? I personally don't see the problem with a girl asking a guy, but some people are funny about it
Reply 6
get a couple of drinks.
Original post by Anonymous