The Student Room Group

Scroll to see replies

Arts or business?
Reply 2
Business. .. althought im not sure where art will take ya excepy bieng an artist.

I would also say business is sooooo popular its crazy.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Your right University is over rated these days. Despite there being a 12% rise in graduate jobs. I feel I have had the same experience as a graduate with no job prospects. I graduated from SOAS, Uni of London with Economics (2.1).

I think a higher apprenticeship would have definitely be a suitable route with no debt, but future career prospects. All in one!
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 4
i think the education system needs to re-assessed. I am sure a lot of people with degrees are unemployed even after doing applications after applications. i know of people who have received 1st class degrees and they can not find a job. maybe its the degree someone chooses?
Unless you are going to study Medicine, Life Sciences or other sectors that you HAVE to have a degree in theres no point i'd say. You spend 4 years (or 3 if in England) getting a degree when someone who got an apprenticeship has 3 years work experience. I know i'd choose experience over a degree if it was something like business or arts etc. I'm studying Immunology and biochemistry in hopes to become a researcher. I have to go to uni for this, however some people in my family never went to uni and are earning loads and they had an apprenticeship. I'd have emailed possible future employers and asked them. :smile:
Reply 6
Original post by EmmaHalley