The Student Room Group

Girls what should I do?

I went on a first real date with a girl on friday (I'd seen her on a couple of occasions beforehand but only briefly). It all went really well and we both want to go on another.

Locally I've found a music festival that looks good. Lots to see and do etc. However a day ticket is £60 each and I don't know whether I can afford the full £120 for the two of us, plus drinks etc it will easily be £180. But I do really want to take her... Should I/ can I ask whether she would contribute towards half her ticket so £30. I'm a university student working part-time hours and she's also a uni student but on full-time placement.
Can I ask her?? I don't know if I could 'stomach' it otherwise.

Thankyou
Fabian

Scroll to see replies

Unless she's a traditional snob, she won't mind paying for herself
Original post by fabmaester
I went on a first real date with a girl on friday (I'd seen her on a couple of occasions beforehand but only briefly). It all went really well and we both want to go on another.

Locally I've found a music festival that looks good. Lots to see and do etc. However a day ticket is £60 each and I don't know whether I can afford the full £120 for the two of us, plus drinks etc it will easily be £180. But I do really want to take her... Should I/ can I ask whether she would contribute towards half her ticket so £30. I'm a university student working part-time hours and she's also a uni student but on full-time placement.

Thankyou
Fabian

These days it should be expected costs will be halfed unless otherwise specified. Bring it up and ask her if she is interested in going, she should assume you aren't offering to pay if you don't offer to pay. It's nice to pay for stuff occasionally but it shouldn't be the norm.