The Student Room Group

Missed my Conditional Offer by 1 Point - IBDP; what to do?

Hi,
I graduated the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme with a total score of 40 and a HL score of 18 (5, 6, 7) in Maths, Chemistry and Physics respectively.
I endeavour to read Computer Science (MEng) in UCL, and have a conditional offer of 39 points with 19 in HL and 6 in HL Maths. I've contacted both my choices (with similarly high requirements) and have already been rejected an offer by my Insurance. UCL, my Firm choice, is my last resort.
If relevant, I am an International Student. I have contacted UCL via email and they said that they have forwarded my email to the head of faculty. I am slightly pleased that they haven't made a decision yet (Schrodinger's lol).
As cited in my Personal Statement, I have a deep-rooted passion for Computing and hope to take this a step further by doing it in Higher Education (yes I know people say this, but my portfolio - I believe - demonstrates this). Unfortunately I've not applied to any other universities so I do not know what to do if I don't get in. Hopefully you'll see the panic haha, coming from an Asian family.
What's the best thing I can do right now?
P.S. I wouldn't like to delegate responsibility to a third party, but it really is unlucky that my institution has recently converted to the IB Diploma Programme and have taught us the wrong syllabus. Consequently a 5 in HL maths is the highest we've gotten. Everyone messed up Paper 3 in Maths as we were clueless to what was in there.

I read that if it's the school/teacher's fault that a letter could be written. Would this improve my chances of getting in at least?

Thanks.