The Student Room Group

Graduate using recruitment/temping agencies

I graduated this summer, and despite having decent work experience/loads of volunteering and skills and a 2:1, I can't even find a retail job willing to take me. I'm currently living at home and hating it - my hometown is miles away from all my friends and nothing ever happens here. Ideally I'd like to move back to Cardiff where I went to uni, but it's difficult to find a job there too. So I've been thinking over the idea of just taking the plunge and moving back there and signing up some temping agencies to tide me over whilst I try to find a more long term thing. Is this doable? Would it be enough to keep me busy/earn enough money to live (my parents said they would be willing to help me out a bit if needed) , or will it just be more soul-destroying than being unemployed with no positive view of the future?! Any stories/advice would be welcome :colondollar:
I graduated this year and was sick of working retail so I joined a temping agency, was a temp for ~6 weeks, cos while I was at the company I was applying for permanent roles and got one - it's not amazing and it's not brilliant pay but I hate not working so it's something to tide me over - and it pays a lot better than retail tbh.

My experience with the temp agency was really positive, they get a percentage of your pay or something, so they genuinely want to find you work, and they told me that being a graduate was basically enough to walk into any temp job.

Good luck! :smile:
Reply 2