The Student Room Group

Diploma, Jazz or Nothin'

OK so I have been playing the alto saxophone for 5-6 years now. I sat my grade 8 practical in December 2013 and I passed with distinction (woot!). I'm 16 years old and entering fifth year (year 12) in a few weeks. My saxophone tutor suggested that my next target should be to go for a diploma in musical performance in June of 2016. She seems intent that it will take me that long to prepare and I cannot sit the exam earlier. IMO that's crazy, if I can cram enough practice into 2 days before my grade 8 to still do well, I won't need nearly 2 years for this. Then again I don't know the first thing about the diploma (having spent barely an hour researching about it). I was also considering learning jazz and improvisation as I have mainly stuck to classical music so far. Aaaaaand then again I could just quit lessons and keep playing at home or random competitions for fun. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Posted from TSR Mobile
It took me a year to do violin diploma and 9 months for my viola diploma afterwards. It usually takes much longer and I have a friend who started his violin diploma 3 years ago and still is nowhere near ready! I have also done my violin LRSM (licentiate of royal schools) and just did my FRSM (fellow of royal schools) a few months ago. It took me 2 years and 3 years respectively for LRSM and FRSM.
The good thing about Diploma is the post nominal letters! They are such a novelty to have- especially now that I have 3 from ABRSM even before having completed any proper qualifications apart from GCSE's! I don't think that you get these for Jazz, but it all depends what you want to do, if you are thinking of going to a conservatoire I would strongly recommend Diploma. Plus it really is great to lord your letters over people!

Lord Harold Dip.ABRSM LRSM FRSM !!!
Original post by Lord Harold