The Student Room Group

Career in Law?

Hi guys,

Just looking for some opinions. I graduated 4 years ago from Cardiff uni with a 2.2 in Business. Had extenuating circumstances etc...basically underperformed significantly. Personal circumstances allow me to fully focus on studies this time.

I'm interested in moving into Law. As i understand my current degree would not really be sufficient with a conversion degree to get a training contract. My current plan is to do a 2 year LLB course with the Open Uni (open for graduates) which would allow me to up the grade as such then move onto LPC, look at work experience etc.

I have a number of concerns, namely the reputation of the OU (not concerned with quality - it seems the OU is as good as any red brick), my age (I'm 25) and the lack of training contracts in comparison with those studying the LPC, though this seems to be improving.

I figure that with a business background, strong performance in upcoming courses and some quality work experience i would have a chance.

Can anyone offer any advise or guidance? Love to hear from people with any similar experiences.

Cheers!
Original post by seancook89
Hi guys,

Just looking for some opinions. I graduated 4 years ago from Cardiff uni with a 2.2 in Business. Had extenuating circumstances etc...basically underperformed significantly. Personal circumstances allow me to fully focus on studies this time.

I'm interested in moving into Law. As i understand my current degree would not really be sufficient with a conversion degree to get a training contract. My current plan is to do a 2 year LLB course with the Open Uni (open for graduates) which would allow me to up the grade as such then move onto LPC, look at work experience etc.