The Student Room Group

Getting funding for a degree after a self funded HNC

Hello all,

I'm starting to get pretty frustrated with student finance and the fact I get a different answer each time I call them up - I imagine I'm not alone in this.

Very simple

I'm doing a HNC in computing at OU - self funded

I'm using this to apply to uni at first year for a Bsc computer science.

I have no other quals at HE level

I'm a mature student

I have been told varying things each time I call SFE:

you are eligible for full funding because the total degree is level 6 whereas the HNC is level 4

We will not fund the first year under ELQ rules.

We will fund 3 years (3 + 1 - previous years study)

you are eligible for funding because you self funded your studies

you are not eligible even though you self funded

Today I hit a personal milestone, whereby the woman on the phone told me all of the above over a ten minute conversation!

Has anyone got any experience with this? I probably could save 9k, but only just.

Lastly, as a member of the armed forces there is a scheme whereby the mod fund your first HE level qual - note I said HE level, and not degree, obviously I'm not eligible because of this amazing HNC that seems to be the best qual in the world which I could get loads of jobs with (yes, I'm getting slightly bitter).
In short:
- you won't, with some exceptions get funding for the same level or a lower level qualification. So, you can't get more funding for another HNC. But can get funding to top up your HNC to a degree.
- it doesn't matter how the HNC was funded
Reply 2
If you gain your HNC and go on to apply for a course with an equal level qualification you won't get support. This is regardless of wether the course is full time or part time and wether you were funded by SFE or yourself. Self funding still counts towards your 4 year entitlement.

Posted from TSR Mobile
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 3