The Student Room Group

Macbook Advice! (Years of waiting and really need some help)

Looking for some advice please! I've been hoping to get a macbook for a few years now and I've now finally got the chance...but now I can't decide which one!

I was originally going to get the 15" basic model as I wear glasses and didn't want to get eye strain or damage them further, could this happen!? I do think the 13" would be more practical for Uni so It's between the 2.6GHz (Turbo boost up to 3.1) or 2.8GHz (Turbo boost up to 3.3)?
I have been advised to get an external hard drive but I've never had one before with any of my Windows laptops, is this advisable and would it effect the macbook decision as above?

I hope to use the Macbook for general uni work as I'm reading Psychology but I also download/watch a lot of videos and dabble in Photography.

I currently have a Sony Vaio VPECH3B1E and previously had a HP, both of which have been useless. I believe my current laptop operates on Intel Core i3!?
I would like it to be fast running with multiple applications open and to remain so after 1 year! However as I'm not really clued up on Macs I'm really uncertain what the best option is?

Thank You in advance :biggrin:
(edited 9 years ago)
Original post by Student44
Looking for some advice please! I've been hoping to get a macbook for a few years now and I've now finally got the chance...but now I can't decide which one!

I was originally going to get the 15" basic model as I wear glasses and didn't want to get eye strain or damage them further, could this happen!? I do think the 13" would be more practical for Uni so It's between the 2.6GHz (Turbo boost up to 3.1) or 2.8GHz (Turbo boost up to 3.3)?
I have been advised to get an external hard drive but I've never had one before with any of my Windows laptops, is this advisable and would it effect the macbook decision as above?