The Student Room Group

Choosing between a PhD in the UK and Hungary

I am from Algeria, I have received an offer for a self-funded PhD in Computer Science at Anglia Ruskin with a small scholarship reducing my tuition fees to the same amount paid by a British/EU student. The reason why I am a self-funded PhD student is because all the scholarships I have come across are available only for EU and British students or not covering my research area. I have chose to fund my research to realize a childhood dream which is teach at the university level. I have heard many negative things about perusing a self-funded PhD in the UK. Many people say that it affects negatively employability prospects. I do not really understand the point why employers have a bad impression on those who choose to pay for their education.

I have also received an offer to study a PhD at the university of Debrecen. The tuition fees are totally reasonable comparing to Britain and the living cost too. Would you drop Anglia Ruskin for a good university in Hungary?

Kind regards.
(edited 9 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Its going to be very difficult to get a UK academic job with a PhD from Anglia Ruskin, which is not even close to being a top tier university. Since you are self-funded, you have a big advantage over most students when it comes to PhD admissions - did you try applying to all the major UK universities first?
Reply 2
Also noone looks down on self-funded PhDs, or would even know you were self-funded unless you told them. The reason why doing a self-funded PhD is a bad idea isnt because people will judge you - its because dropping the best part of £50k on a degree which typically doesnt increase your potential salary relative to an undergrad/masters is insane unless you were wealthy.