The Student Room Group

PPE and Int. Relations Personal Statement

Hi all,

I am a student studying in an American high school. I want to apply to International relations primarily. I will apply to LSE for int. rel., and I also will apply to a Cambridge college, and possibly an Oxford one. However, Oxbridge don't offer a direct Int. rel. course, instead Cambridge has HSPS and Oxford has PPE. In this case, how should I shape my personal statement? Thank you.
Reply 1
I have to admit, that's going to be difficult. My suggestion would be go through the course content of all of them (lse,Oxford and Cambridge) and try to find common modules/ topics covered. Try to focus ur personal statement on those particular topics.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by Barleywolf
Hi all,

I am a student studying in an American high school. I want to apply to International relations primarily. I will apply to LSE for int. rel., and I also will apply to a Cambridge college, and possibly an Oxford one. However, Oxbridge don't offer a direct Int. rel. course, instead Cambridge has HSPS and Oxford has PPE. In this case, how should I shape my personal statement? Thank you.

You can only apply to one or other of Oxford and Cambridge, not both. Use the PS builder tool as a guide.
https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/personal_statement_builder/
Decide which course you really want to study in advance and apply for that. A PS aimed at different courses will fail to prove that you are interested and informed enough about any of them to be given a place.
(edited 9 years ago)
Reply 3
Thanks for the heads up, I did not know that. But Cambridge HSPS includes the politics and international relations, so I think I should be fine with a PS about politics and international relations-I trust my writing skills, and the subjects are not very hard to tie together.