The Student Room Group
University of Manchester
University of Manchester
Manchester

Is it okay to have a problem with student service?

Hi guys,

Long story short, this is my first year and I had accommodation guarantee. Got an offer of a hall with sharing bathroom and rejected it because having shower with a stranger being in the same room isn't easy thing to do for everybody, you know? Now they're sayin since I rejected it I got no chance anymore and blah-blah. Of course I understand that the uni can't afford to have bunch of choosey students but come on! This **** is offensive! "you either take shower with strangers or say goodbye" literally it is. If it is their policy out of the necessity well I guess I'd have no choice. But I'll lose it if they pretend that the logic of this makes any sense. Without giving acceptable offer blaming me for losing my guarantee is something I really want to sue about. Oops I said long story short but haha.. Again, long story short, lol, can I afford to have a fight with the uni? For example is sending an unfiltered and abrasive email, not including swears or that kinda thing, okay? Or can it harm me in any way? I don't know how things work in uni so I really need some advice, Thx!
Tbh I think it's a bit ridiculous getting into a fight over a shower.The demand for ensuites is higher than the supply. It's in the T&C's that if you reject your accommodation offer you aren't guaranteed a new one. I don't see how that's unfair? Lots of universities don't even guarantee a place in a shared bathroom hall. It won't affect your academic career but do you really want to be getting on the wrong side of anyone at the university before you even start?

The university really hasn't done anything wrong here.
University of Manchester
University of Manchester
Manchester
Original post by sueme

"you either take shower with strangers or say goodbye"