The Student Room Group

Overqualified for Jobs?

I have a 2:1 Degree in Drama and I'm worried that it'll make me overqualified for some jobs like McDonalds, Supermarkets etc

I live in a small market town and I want to be a writer but need a job on the side

Scroll to see replies

Original post by Mrx123
I have a 2:1 Degree in Drama and I'm worried that it'll make me overqualified for some jobs like McDonalds, Supermarkets etc

I live in a small market town and I want to be a writer but need a job on the side

Lol overqualified with a degree in Drama? And a 2:1 at that. Now I've heard it all.
Do you have any work experience?
Original post by Marky Mark
Lol overqualified with a degree in Drama? And a 2:1 at that. Now I've heard it all.

Well Drama does help you talk to people and increase confidence so it's more relevant than something like Engineering.
Original post by Dilzo999
Well Drama does help you talk to people and increase confidence so it's more relevant than something like Engineering.

I'm sure all the wannabe actors with drama degrees and qualifications from drama schools are not overqualified to work in restaurants.

Lol
Overqualified? Hahahaha get your ass back to Mcdonalds
This is TSR. No STEM no sympathy.
You can do a degree in Drama?

Just wow.
Original post by Mrx123

take you "snort" drama 2.1 off your CV then,

its not rocket science
Original post by jamez870
Lol

Original post by Marky Mark
I'm sure all the wannabe actors with drama degrees and qualifications from drama schools are not overqualified to work in restaurants.

Original post by vee_wuvshugs
Just wow.

What? It's obvious that a person doing Engineering would be less confident than some doing Drama, what do you think people do in McDonalds? Do they try to find the right size of the burger with all the calculation etc? **** no, they sell burgers and have to be confident and good with people face to face so Drama > Engineering for a role at McDonalds.
(edited 9 years ago)