The Student Room Group

English Lit OR Psychology

Hi,
I am due to start my A-levels in a week ! And i am still unsure of what to take, initially i wanted to take History,Textiles, Math and, Biology but after not getting the grade in Maths i needed in order to take it at A level i now have to choose between English Lit and Psychology.

I am interested in both subjects and am finding it extremely hard to choose between them, has anyone taken them at A level and what are your thoughts? Also which do you think would be most respected by universities as i have no idea what career i would like to do,

Thank you, any help appreciated
I studied English Lit at A-Level and I am going on to study it at university in a few weeks. Firstly, I'd say it depends on what really interests you...you should find out what the courses include, for English Lit especially - for example what texts you will be reading/studying. This is super important because you will be expected to read them in depth. I know people who studied psychology and they didn't seem to enjoy it as it covers a wide range of different topics and its pretty difficult to cover them all to the level they were expected to. This being said, English Lit is an A-Level and no A-Levels are easy..

I hope that you enjoy whatever you choose.. being biased I'd say choose English Lit but again, it depends on which subject better suits your personality..

& don't worry too much about your exams.. they're difficult and stressful but you'll get through them!!
To aimeesteven12;50029789
Thankyou for replying so quickly ! :smile:
Thanks i know that if i took English Lit i would study
Joseph Conrad
Henry James
Edward Thomas
Did you study any of these ?
Thanks again