The Student Room Group

ASDA Jobs Application Status

Ok so im currently studying a course at uni and im also looking for a job. Any job in fact. Which is why I applied for a Grocery assistant job on the 2nd of Augusy 2014. Now that job closing date was I think the 7th.

A day or two later I rechecked my online application and it come up with the following:
Job submission date
02-Aug-2014
Job requisition ID
HR status
Application under review
HR status date
02-Aug-2014

(The Job requisition ID ive blanked out. No idea if im allowed to paste it into a public forum so ive decided not to risk it)

Its now the 3rd of September 2014 and I'm still waiting on the application after frequently checking to see if any changes have been made or a decisions has been taken.

Unfortunately nothing has changed whatsoever. I can't find vacancies anywhere else in my area and im adamant in not travelling 15+ miles for a part time job.

Oh and if I am called in for a "Magic Interview" then please can you tell me what I should wear? I was thinking a plain white shirt, black trousers with black shoes but Ive no idea if that would be too formal.

Sincere apologies if this thread has been done before but it's literally nearly quarter past 1 past midnight, im tired and rather anxious to find out why the job status has been like this for so long. :confused:

Thank you
Best regards
Marati :biggrin:
Original post by Marati

ASDA are usually very fast with application shortlisting after the deadline date as the period of time managers are given to recruit is quite short.

Most people are through their inductions and on the shopfloor within 2 weeks of the deadline date.

I'd say it's likely you have been rejected but managers have been too busy to update the status yet on those they haven't shortlisted as they're dealing with the newstarts.

Sometimes they also hold off rejecting 'possibles' in case any newstart drops out (quite common).