The Student Room Group
University of York
York

Societies and sports clubs

Hi all! I don't think I'm alone in looking through all the societies and sports clubs available at York since I'll be there at the end of the month. I just wanted to open a bit of a chat about what clubs everyone else is interested in joining!

I like the look of the drama society and the movie society; as for sports clubs I'd really like to take up some kind of martial arts, but I also like the sound of the caving society and riding lessons (although that's probably too expensive for me anyway :colondollar:). This is on top of wanting to take up guitar lessons, an LFA course in French, and maybe a part time job... obviously not feasible to do it all! Fresher's fair is going to be interesting :tongue:

How about everyone else??
Reply 1
Hey I wanted to take up riding in York as well :smile: I have also been looking at dancing.
As for other societies, I am a politics with IR student so I thought maybe United Nations, debating or think tank.
I love singing as well, but don't know if I want to pursue it at York...

You are going to be a busy bee! haha. What do you want to join the most?
University of York
York
Hoping to join the Lacrosse team and also Conservative society :biggrin: I'm automatically part of the PEP society as well so I'm going to try and keep up with that too!

I've got a part time job at the moment, and it's going to be a little bit of a squeeze fitting in everything but I think it'll be fine if I manage my time right! I'm a postgraduate, but I seriously screwed up with societies in my undergraduate so I'm going to get super involved this year!
Reply 3
Original post by Meltem
Hey I wanted to take up riding in York as well :smile: I have also been looking at dancing.
As for other societies, I am a politics with IR student so I thought maybe United Nations, debating or think tank.
I love singing as well, but don't know if I want to pursue it at York...