The Student Room Group

What to do with my life???

I am currently studying A2 levels with AS grades of A- psychology A-PE and B-biology. I aim to get AAA-AAB next year. I am looking at studying psychology at university but really don't know if it is for me or if there are any jobs. It is obviously a very popular course so there will be lots of competition for jobs. Only problem is I do not know what job I want to do. I've always said I don't want a boring office job but there aren't many jobs that I would class as fun in psychology even though it interests me! I am also looking at physiotherapy as this is more practical but not sure if I want to go onto that for the rest of my life. Basically I am very stuck. I am thinking about taking a gap year as I would love to travel but not sure if this will hold me back. Any help on psychology/ physiotherapy courses/careers would be appreciated and also any information of gap years. Would love to hear about your experiences in any of these areas!
If you are uncertain of what to study a gap year would definitely be a good idea as you might get a better idea of what you love to do and it definitely would not hold you back (employers love a well travelled applicant as it really does broaden your mind). However, just on a side note, the subject you do at university if not as limiting as you might think, hardly any of my friends are now in jobs relating to their subject! Psychology shows a very high level of intelligence and analytical skills so it is a great degree for your cv even if you decide you don't want to pursue a career in the area!
Reply 2
Original post by bero971