The Student Room Group

Could a C Grade GCSE student do A-Level maths?

Currently I am a D/C GCSE student and I really want and need to do A-Level maths next year. I know my grade is astonishingly bad for someone who wants to do A-Level but so far this term my maths has vastly improved(I am doing some B/A grade topics in class). I have signed up for extra help after school classes and intervention(maths help during school hours). I am really going to try and improve my grade and get at least a B. I have never been very good at maths but I am really trying.

So what are my chances of being able to do A-Level maths? Or are there any other options?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by quinoa
so far this term my maths has vastly improved

Term started last week.

And tbh... although I think it's great that you're trying really hard to improve, you yourself say that you've never really been good at the subject... why are you forcing it? Maybe it's just not for you. I got an A* at GCSE maths and getting an A at A-level was hard work. Would you want to put yourself through all that? Do you need it for uni?
Reply 2
Original post by quinoa
Currently I am a D/C GCSE student and I really want and need to do A-Level maths next year. I know my grade is astonishingly bad for someone who wants to do A-Level but so far this term my maths has vastly improved(I am doing some B/A grade topics in class). I have signed up for extra help after school classes and intervention(maths help during school hours). I am really going to try and improve my grade and get at least a B. I have never been very good at maths but I am really trying.

So what are my chances of being able to do A-Level maths? Or are there any other options?

I was a C/D GCSE student who obtained A*A*A*A in his A levels.

It's not really whether you're capable of doing A level maths, it's more whether you can convince a school / college to let you enroll with those grades.
Reply 3