The Student Room Group

Tell me about Uni life in the UK!

I'm a university student in Alabama, USA and I'm curious how Uni life in the UK is different from University here. Any general impressions or experiences are welcome, or answer a question!

Do you think the schooling system works well in the UK? What doesn't work? What does work well?
How much pressure do you feel to be "successful?"
Do you only spend time on campus?
Are your studies towards a vocation, or can you take classes without knowing what your job will be?
What is your favorite professor like? What do they do that works?
If you're not a native English speaker, what has your experience been of learning English?
Reply 1
Original post by AlabamaArtChick
I'm a university student in Alabama, USA and I'm curious how Uni life in the UK is different from University here. Any general impressions or experiences are welcome, or answer a question!

Do you think the schooling system works well in the UK? What doesn't work? What does work well?
How much pressure do you feel to be "successful?"
Do you only spend time on campus?
Are your studies towards a vocation, or can you take classes without knowing what your job will be?
What is your favorite professor like? What do they do that works?
If you're not a native English speaker, what has your experience been of learning English?

Hi, as much as i would love to see american collage, i would love Americans to learn/find out about about our collage/uni system.

I think ours works really well. Unlike american collage, we pick one subject which we study for 3/4 years. If you want to be a nurse, you study nursing, if you are interested in history, you study history. American collage (btw this is not a criticism, just wouldnt like to learn in this way) you have to study many classes and get credits before you can major in something you actually want to do.